Why writing (naff) poems can help you grow or start a business

Let me start by saying this article really has nothing to do with poetry.

Hey munchkins!

This issue we’ve got 2x tickets to Gala Festival to giveaway from our friends over at Lemonaid! Make it snappy because the comp ends on Monday. I know we’ve only had 3 days of sunshine, but summer is on her way babies, I can feel it. In the meantime — we grind.

Read Why writing poems will help you run a successful business by my boss Adam, or how to work with a boss when you have a problem with authority, by me, and finally why that word doc CV of yours needs some attention.

There’s a new rat sticker to collect, and we’ve made new tees, hats and rewards if you get your friends to sign up to this newsletter, scroll to end share! Love you!!!

Good Jobs as always, at the bottom (secret: we’re hiring!)

Love, Isobel xox Editor of GJFBP

“You’re not really a bad person, but you could probably be better!”

🪩 WIN 2 TICKETS TO GALA FESTIVAL 🪩

When: May 24th-27th, 2024 Where: Peckham Rye Park, London

Ferocious dance-ready melodies, high-octane energy and eccentric DJ sets. Take a night off scrolling on LinkedIn and get tickets for you and a pal to GALA. An independent community-driven festival born from a love of dance music. Get yourself and a pair of night-time sunnies down there. 😎

Competition closes May 20th at 12pm. If you win, Lemonaid will contact you directly. 

Wild Rats Spotted!

Well done to all of you who secured yourself a place in the official rat-race club. Which has just been made official by me.

This issues NEW rat sticker! 🐀

100 stickers available in exchange for a funny story if you’ve ever been fired.

I’ll go first.

I’d just turned 18 and was working in a fancy hotel. For context, on my trial shift I dropped a entire plate of salmon down a woman’s back and still got the job. I’d only been there 3 weeks but it was summer, and I wanted to go on holiday with my pals. I asked my manager if I could book a week off and she said ‘‘No, if you book that holiday you won’t have a job here when you get back.” Anyway, Croatia was wicked.

She could be yours — I’m going to start a collection.

Good Reads For Bad People

Adam Williams | Brain | 2 Minute Read

“But I don’t like poems”, “writing doesn’t interest me”, or my personal favourite – “I’m not a repressed historical lesbian”.

I get it, but let me start by saying this article really has nothing to do with poetry.

RGC | Work | 2 Minute Read

If your CV has your birthday, what a team player you are, or your how much you like swimming – it’s time to take that off. 

Isobel | Attitude | 2 Minute Read

First things first, I am not an anarchist. You won’t catch me smashing up shops, setting things on fire, throwing Heinz soup onto art…

Free Business Idea #44:

Repellent spray for people who stand too close to you in a queue.

“SKEWS U!”

Side Hustles Don’t Have To Suck.

Good Jobs For Bad People

London | Full Time

Flo

Growth UX Writer

Period tracking app for girls, women and people who menstruate.

London | Full Time

Yonder

Senior Performance Marketing

Epic credit cards for modern explorers.

Paris | Full Time

Interstellar Lab

Marketing & Comms Coordinator

Our mission is to build a future full of life, on Earth and beyond.

Remote UK | Full Time

Reedsy

Customer Happiness Manager

A place for authors to learn, create and market the best indie books.

London | Paid Summer Intern

Pollen

seasn Marketing Assistant

Venture Studio independently dedicated to leading the second-wave of moderation and non-alcoholic drinks. Email Hebe.

London | Full Time

Really Good Culture

Business Development

Could you sell water to whale? Want to work with some of the most exciting tech in the retail space? Tell Adam why you’re great.